Photo and Video Art Works

Untitled photo

Photography by Marleen Cafarelli of Photo and Video Art Works

It was magnificent weather for this 54 year Newtown tradition, and largest parade in the state. The parade theme, "Celebrating the Fine Art of Newtown" was in honor of SCAN, Society of Creative Arts of Newtown. So it was fitting the Grand Marshal was Ruth Newquist a renowned watercolor, acrylic and oil Newtown artist recognized for her land and cityscapes.  

Politicians marching in the parade were Governor Dannel Malloy, LT Governor Nancy Wyman, Senator Richard Blumenthal, Senator Chris Murphy, Newtown's State Representative Mitch Bolinsky,  Pat Llordra , Newtown's First Selectman, and many other state and local politicians.

Thank you to the parade committee who work tirelessly all year: Beth Caldwell, President, Robin Buchanan, Vice President, Brian Amey, Treasurer/Organizer, Andy Cluff, Treasurer/Street director, Dan Cruson, Secretary, Manuel Fernandes, Andy Gallagher, Stacey Olszewski, Kym Stendahl, Tom D’Agostino, and Ellie Whalen.

Parade Judges: Richard Case, Liz Cooper, Bob Kensek, Renia Marini, and Melanie Allen-Mattegat selected winners for the coveted Rooster Award, Best Musical Entry, Best Float, Best Non-Musical Entry, Best School, Best New Entry, Best Patriotic Entry, Best Entry Fitting The Parade Theme, and Most Colorful.

Emcees were John Voket and Susan Lang, by  the flagpole; MaryAnn Murtha and Mike Giantano, main reviewing stand Queen Street; and radio personalities from 105.5 and 95.5 on Glover Avenue.

Sponsors: Newtown Savings Bank. Ingersoll Auto, Teamsters Local 1150, and Maplewood at Newtown are platinum sponsors, Newtown Rotary Club, and Sikorsky Aircraft are gold sponsors, plus many other local businesses and residents who donate.

"All Images Copyright © Photo & Video Art Works and Marleen Cafarelli. All Rights Reserved. Unauthorized reproduction prohibited.

Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In